Timber voted Talent of the Year


Jurriën Timber has been named Talent of the Year by the technical staff. The defender was presented with the Marco van Basten Award on Wednesday in a capacity Johan Cruijff ArenA.


  • #Timber
  • #XXX6


This award means Timber succeeds Ryan Gravenberch, who won it last year. The twenty-year-old defender has so far made 38 appearances for Ajax 1 this season, scoring three times.

Timber scored the first of nine for Ajax in the goal-packed home game against Cambuur (9-0). His second goal was in Waalwijk, part of a 5-0 victory. Timber's third and final goal of the season was undoubtedly the most crucial. Timber was responsible for the one and only goal away against Willem II, in the 81st minute.

Last season, Timber was twice even named Johan Cruijff Eredivisie Talent of the Month by ESPN. He was honoured for his performances in September and November. Great play meant Timber made a huge contribution to the successful season which ultimately led to them winning the league champions title for the 36th time.

Talent of the Year
2021: Ryan Gravenberch
2020: Sergiño Dest
2019: Noussair Mazraoui
2018: Matthijs de Ligt
2017: Kasper Dolberg
2016: Riechedly Bazoer
2015: Anwar El Ghazi
2014: Davy Klaassen
2013: Viktor Fischer
2012: Ricardo van Rhijn
2011: Christian Eriksen
2010: Toby Alderweireld
2009: Gregory van der Wiel
2008: Jan Vertonghen
2007: Ryan Babel
2006: Urby Emanuelson & Thomas Vermaelen
2005: Hedwiges Maduro
2004: Nicolae Mitea
2003: Steven Pienaar
2002: Maxwell
2001: Rafael van der Vaart
2000: Cristian Chivu
1999: Richard Knopper
1998: Benni Mc Carthy
1997: Mario Melchiot
1996: Nordin Wooter
1995: Nwankwo Kanu
1994: Tarik Oulida

Related articles


Season round-up | League champions for the 36th time is in the bag

Ajax were crowned league champions for the 36th time in the club's history on Wednesday. Following victory over SC Heerenveen, Erik ten Hag's team have left the competition standing. The season round-up explains how the Ajax players have taken the crown as the best in all the Netherlands.


  • #XXX6



Player of the Year: Martínez

Lisandro Martínez was named Player of the Year on Wednesday. The Argentinian succeeds Dusan Tadic, who won the award last season. The winner of the Rinus Michels Award each year is chosen by the supporters.


  • #Martínez
  • #XXX6