Berghuis voted Player of the Year

Berghuis Speler Vh Jaar 1280 1
Berghuis Speler Vh Jaar 1280 1

Steven Berghuis has been voted Player of the Year of the 2022/2023 season. The attacking midfielder is the successor of the Argentine Lisandro Martínez. He received the award at sports complex De Toekomst.


  • #Berghuis


The 31-year-old Berghuis played 42 official matches for Ajax 1 this season. He played 29 Eredivisie duels, all UEFA Champions League matches (six), four Dutch Cup matches, two Europa League matches, and the Johan Cruijff Shield battle. He scored eleven goals and made an equal amount of assists.

His first goal of the season was in the first Eredivisie home match. In the 6-1 victory against FC Groningen on August 14, 2022, Berghuis scored Ajax’s sixth goal right before full-time. This season, he scored two goals in one match three times. During the visit to RKC Waalwijk (1-4 victory) and Cambuur (0-5 victory) and in the home match against Fortuna Sittard: 4-0 victory.

Also in the Champions League, Berghuis put himself on the scoresheet twice. In both matches against Rangers FC, the left-footed player managed to score. In the home match (4-0 victory), he made the second goal; in Scotland, he was responsible for the opening goal. Ajax ended up winning 1-3.

Steven Berghuis has been playing in Amsterdam since the summer of 2021. Since his transfer, he played 88 matches in all leagues. Of those, 58 ended in a victory, thirteen ended in a draw, and seventeen ended in a loss. He has the best connection to Dusan Tadic and Edson Álvarez. He scored five times after an assist made by the captain and made one assist for the Serb. Álvarez on the other hand scored five times after an assist made by Berghuis and gave one assist to the Player of the Year of the 2022/2023 season.

Player of the Year

2022: Lisandro Martínez
2021: Dusan Tadic
2020: Hakim Ziyech
2019: Hakim Ziyech
2018: Hakim Ziyech
2017: Davinson Sánchez
2016: Jasper Cillessen
2015: Jasper Cillessen
2014: Lasse Schöne
2013: Daley Blind
2012: Jan Vertonghen
2011: Maarten Stekelenburg
2010: Luis Suarez
2009: Luis Suarez
2008: Maarten Stekelenburg
2007: Wesley Sneijder
2006: Klaas Jan Huntelaar
2005: Nigel de Jong
2004: Maxwell
2003: Cristian Chivu
2002: Rafael van der Vaart
2001: Cristian Chivu
2000: Jesper Gronkjaer
1999: Jari Litmanen
1998: Edwin van der Sar
1997: Ronald de Boer
1996: Marc Overmars
1995: Frank Rijkaard
1994: Jari Litmanen
1993: Dennis Bergkamp

Related articles


Berghuis: ‘That hand kiss was for the little one’

The man of the match, Steven Berghuis, was happy with his performance against Fortuna Sittard. The right-winger scored the beautiful opening goal. "The first goal was old-school. Cutting in and then scoring in the far corner. The hand kiss after the goal was for ‘the little one’. She's four. It was a nice moment. Most of all, it's great to have been able to make a difference in that position. I can play there."


  • #Berghuis