Ajax loses to Anderlecht in Olympic Stadium

Ajax loses to Anderlecht in Olympic Stadium

Ajax lost its friendly game to Anderlecht by 1-3 in the Olympic Stadium.  David Neres scored the goal on Friday night for the Amsterdam team.  Hakim Ziyech and Kasper Dolberg played their first minutes post-World Cup, Donny van de Beek, Siem de Jong and Frenkie de Jong were back on the field for the first time since their injuries.

Ajax – Anderlecht, thanks in part to the special setting, brought a certain nostaligia with it.  Under the lights of the Olympic Stadium, Ajax played without Matthijs de Ligt (slight injury), Rasmus Kristensen, and Nico Tagliafico.  Dusan Tadic, who was still on holidays, was not with the group.

Sold-out Olympic Stadium

Under the watchful eyes of 7000 Ajax fans (all available seats were taken), Erik ten Hag’s team didn’t make a promising start in the game.  Ivan Santini brought the Belgians into the lead, after captain Andre Onana had made the save initially.

Several minutes later, Ajax answered.  A good combination between Mitchel Bakker and Zakaria Labyad on the left side resulted in the ball landing with Ziyech.  The star put Neres 1-1 with keeper Didillon, and the Brazilian scored with a hard shot: 1-1.

After the break, Ten Hag made his first substitutions.  Luis Orejuela, Frenkie de Jong and Siem de Jong came onto the field.  The fresh reinforcements were unable to make the difference, and 20  minutes into the second half, the Belgian team took a 1-2 lead (via a penalty) and then a 1-3 lead.

Training camp

Thus the friendly match against the Belgians ended in disappointment.  On Saturday, Ten Hag’s team will travel to Birmingham for a training camp.  In England, Ajax will work through their last preparations before the important Champions League qualifying game against Sturm Graz.

 Ajax - Anderlecht 1-3 (1-1). 17. Santini 0-1, 20. Neres 1-1, 57. Dimata 1-2, 65. Santini 1-3

Line-up Ajax: Onana; Mazraoui (46. Orejuela), Schuurs, Wöber, Bakker; Van de Beek (46. F. de Jong), Eiting, Ziyech (46. S. de Jong); Labyad (79. Johnsen), Dolberg (66. Huntelaar), Neres.