Van der Vaart and Sneijder picked for Holland

Rafael van der Vaart and Wesley Sneijder have been selected for the qualifying match for Euro 2004 against Moldova, on Saturday in Eindhoven, by national team coach Dick Advocaat. John Heitinga and Maarten Stekelenburg were picked for the Olympic team.

The match against Moldova is of no consequence for Holland's place in the group table. The Czech Republic are already certain of first place and Holland cannot finish anywhere else but second. Advocaat uses the match to prepare for the two play-off matches against another group's number 2 on 15 and 19 November.

Holland's squad: Waterreus, Van der Sar; F. de Boer, Stam, Ooijer, Reiziger, Van Bronckhorst, Zenden; Bosvelt, Cocu, Sneijder, Overmars, Robben, Van der Meyde; Van der Vaart, Makaay, Kluivert and Van Hooijdonk.

Olympic team

Johnny Heitinga and Maarten Stekelenburg have been picked by coach Cor Pot for teh Olympic team's match against Moldova. Nigel de Jong was not called up as he sits out a suspension. The Olympic team cannot qualify for the European Championship anymore.

The Olympic team:
Goal: Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Theo Zwarthoed (AZ).
Defence: Michael Jansen (Vitesse), Arnold Kruiswijk (FC Groningen), David Mendes da Silva (Sparta Rotterdam), Steve Olfers (RKC Waalwijk), Marcel Seip (SC Heerenveen), Johnny Heitinga (Ajax).
Midfield: Youssouf Hersi (NEC), Jordi Hoogstrate (PSV), Danny Mathijssen (Willem II), Stijn Schaars (Vitesse).
Offence: Kiran Bechan (Sparta Rotterdam), Anuar Diba (NAC Breda), Serghino Green (RKC Waalwijk), Koen van de Laak (FC Den Bosch), Eddy Putter (FC Volendam), Jack Tuyp ( FC Volendam).