LG Amsterdam Tournament has four teams

LG Amsterdam Tournament has four teams

Besides Ajax, Sevilla, Arsenal and Internazionale will play on the tenth LG Amsterdam Tournament, on 8 and 9 August in the Amsterdam ArenA.

Arsenal won the 2007 edition of the Amsterdam Tournament.
Arsenal won the 2007 edition of the Amsterdam Tournament.

Arsenal, winners of the previous edition, are welcome guests in Amsterdam. The London team reached the quarter final of the Champions League in the past season and were long-time leaders in the Premier League. Arsenal were praised for their attractive play. Coach Arsène Wenger sees the LG Amsterdam Tournament as the ideal preparation for the upcomng season.

Inter has many star players, such as former Ajax players Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Maxwell and Cristian Chivu. The Italian side recently signed coach José Mourinho for three seasons.

For Spanish side Sevilla FC this will be their first AT. The winners of the UEFA Cup in 2006 and 2007 played in the Champions League last season and reached the quarter finals. Former Ajax players Tom de Mul and Julien Escudé are part of the squad and will be returning to Amsterdam for the tournament.

Traditionally, the LG Amsterdam Tournament has an alternative points system, which allows extra points for goals scored. The team that loses the first match can still win the tournament. This system rewards attacking and spectacular football.


Friday 8 August 2008
7 p.m. : Internazionale - Sevilla
9.15 p.m. : Ajax - Arsenal

Saturday 9 August 2008
7 p.m. : Arsenal - Sevilla
9.15 p.m. : Ajax - Internazionale