De Jong and Anita won’t go to European Championships

De Jong and Anita won’t go to European Championships

National coach Bert van Marwijk had some bad news for Vurnon Anita and Siem de Jong this afternoon. The two Ajax players, as well as Jeremain Lens and Adam Maher, won’t be included in the Dutch team’s European Championships selection.

Siem de Jong commented this afternoon on not being included in the selection: “I had expected it a bit, because I’m realistic enough to know that there was a lot of competition. But I had hoped to be included. I’ve done my utmost, and then you just need to wait and see.”
The Dutch team flew back to the Netherlands this morning, and the selection checked into the Hilton hotel. “I was asked to go see the coach immediately”, says De Jong. “In that discussion, which I won’t say much about, he told me why I wasn’t chosen. After that, I could decide to leave right away, or stay and have lunch with the others. Just like the other three, I chose to stay. We were together for the whole week, and it was nice to say goodbye properly. I’m happy that I was able to do this, because I hadn’t been with them at all this season. It was good for me to get to know the group, and I enjoyed training at this high level. It’s definitely a higher level than with Ajax.”
Siem was sent home, but his brother Luuk will stay on in Bert van Marwijk’s EC selection. “I’m really happy that Luuk has been included”, says the Ajax player, pleased for his brother. “A family member is there. I hope that the Netherlands are successful at the EC, which is what I just tweeted. I’m going to focus on booking myself a holiday now, so that I can be well rested when I report back to Ajax.”
With Anita and De Jong’s departure, the Dutch team only has one Ajax player. Only Gregory van der Wiel was selected by Van Marwijk in his 23 man selection, which consists of the following players:
Ibrahim Afellay (Barcelona), Mark van Bommel (AC Milan), Kahlid Boulahrouz (VfB Stuttgart), Wilfred Bouma (PSV), John Heitinga (Everton), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Schalke’04), Luuk de Jong (FC Twente), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Joris Mathijsen (Málaga), Luciano Narsingh (sc Heerenveen), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Arjen Robben (Bayern München), Stijn Schaars (Sporting), Wesley Sneijder (Inter), Maarten Stekelenburg (AS Roma), Kevin Strootman (PSV), Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham Hotspur), Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord), Michel Vorm (Swansea City), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax) en Jetro Willems (PSV).