Ajax win Ted Bates Trophy

Ajax win Ted Bates Trophy

Ajax ended their English training camp by defeating Southampton by 4-1 in St. Mary Stadium on Saturday. Luis Suarez scored two goals. The team will return to Amsterdam on Sunday, with the Ted Bates Trophy.

The winner of the preseason friendly was give the Ted Bates Trophy. The cup is named after the legendary former player, manager and chairman of Southampton, who served his club for more than six decades.

Southampton took the lead in the match when Joseph Mills scored frm close range: 1-0. Ajax created many chances, but did not score until the 25th minute. Miralem Sulejmani was fouled in the box and Luis Suarez converted the spot kick flawlessly: 1-1.

,,We made it a little easir on ourselves in the second half’’, Ajax boss Martin Jol said. ,,We created about seven good chances after halftime. It's important to stay calm and realise that you'll get new chances.’’

Suarez gave his team the lead. The captain released a surprising shot that could not be stopped by three defenders and the goalkeeper: 1-2.

Ten minutes before the end, Toby Alderweireld put the game away when he headed in the ball and made it 1-3. Substitute Marvin Zeegelaar scored minutes before the end after a good touch by Suarez.

Jol did not want to go into the choices he has to make for his team in the upcoming weeks. The coach hopes to have two systems in place that his team can comfortably play; one with two forwards and one with three. ,,Everybody will have to fight to stay on the team’’, Jol said.

St.Mary's Stadium, Southampton
Referee: Lee Probert

Southampton - Ajax 1-4 (1-1)
15. Joseph Mills 1-0, 25. Luis Suarez 1-1, 54. Luis Suarez 1-2, 81. Toby Alderweireld 1-3, 87. Marvin Zeegelaar 1-4.

Southampton: Kelvin Davis; Graeme Murty, Lee Molyneux (56. Jake Thomson), Paul Wotton, Chris Perry; Wayne Thomas (46. Oliver Lancashire), Adam Lallana (74. Matthew Paterson), Lloyd James (67. Morgan Schneiderlin), Grzegorz Rasiak (46. Marek Saganowski); Simon Gillett (85. Callum McNish), Joseph Mills.

Ajax: Kenneth Vermeer; Bruno Silva, Rob Wielaert, Toby Alderweireld, Vunon Anita; Kennedy (46. Dennis Rommedahl), Mitchell Donald, Siem de Jong, Urby Emanuelson (71. Jeffrey Sarpong); Luis Suarez, Miralem Sulejmani (65. Marvin Zeegelaar).
DNP: Jeroen Verhoeven, Gregory van der Wiel, Rasmus Lindgren, Ismaïl Aissati, Evander Sno, Daley Blind, George Ogararu, Albert Luque.