Ajax players active in national teams

Ajax players active in national teams

Six Ajax players will spend the next few days focusing on the World Cup qualifications. Kenneth Vermeer, Ricardo van Rhijn, Christian Eriksen, Niklas Moisander, Toby Alderweireld and rookie Tobias Sana have all been called up to their national teams. Daley Blind, Mitchell Dijks and Viktor Fischer will all be competing for a ticket for the under 21 European Championships in Israel.

Ricardo van Rhijn and Kenneth Vermeer are on national coach Louis van Gaal’s selection for the Dutch team. Van Rhijn is aiming for his fourth interland, while Vermeer joins the national team for the first time. The Dutch national team plays Andorra on Friday evening in De Kuip. On Tuesday, a tough away match against Romania awaits.
Of all the Danes at Ajax, Christian Eriksen is the only one to get called to the Danish team. Denmark plays an away game against Bulgaria on Friday evening. Four days later, an away match against leader Italy is on the agenda.
Toby Alderweireld will join Belgium for the hunt for participation in the World Cup 2014. Ajax’s reserve captain and the Belgian team will face Serbia on Friday evening. After the match in Belgrade, a home game against Scotland awaits. Belgium shares the lead of pool A with Serbia, with four points in two matches.
Niklas Moisander only has one game scheduled. On Friday evening, he plays with Finland against Georgia.
Ajax forward Tobias Sana has received an invitation for the first time to join the Swedish national team. Will the 23 year old Ajax player get playing minutes in Faroe Islands – Sweden (Friday) and Germany – Sweden (Saturday)?
Daley Blind and Mitchell Dijks, with Jong Oranje, are just one hurdle away from the under 21 European Championships in Israel. Jong Oranje will meet Jong Slovakia in the play-offs for one EC ticket. The away match is already behind them. On Monday evening, the return awaits in the Sparta Rotterdam stadium. Jody Lukoki had also received an invitation from national coach Cor Pot to join the team, but the winger was forced to decline due to his knee injury.
The Dutch reserves team will play on both Friday and Tuesday evenings, in an interland against Norway in Nuenen. KNVB coach Remy Reynierse has called up six Ajax players. Joël Veltman, Dico Koppers, Ilan Boccara, Lesley de Sa, Ruben Ligeon and Stefano Denswil form the Ajax delegation with the Dutch reserves team.
The Dutch national team for players under 19 qualified on Thursday for the Elite rounds of the EC qualifications. After Malta (5-0), San Marino was also defeated: 4-0. On Sunday, the mini tournament will be closed against host country Poland. Six Ajax players will be active against the Poles. In addition to keeper Mickey van der Hart, , Nick de Bondt , Danzell Gravenberch, Abdel Malek El Hasnaoui en Queensy Menig (Ajax), A1 keeper Peter Leeuwenburgh will also join the Dutch team. He replaces Feyenoord keeper Boy de Jong.