Ajax defeat Bristol City

Ajax defeat Bristol City

Ajax won their first friendly match during the training camp in England on Monday. Bristol City FC were defeated by 0-4 in the Athlon Gate stadium.

Ajax began the match in 4-4-2. Miralem Sulejmani and Luis Suarez played up front. Suarez was named the team's captain on Wednesday and he confirmed after the match that the captaincy gives him extra confidence. ,,It is motivating to be captain’’, said the forward. ,,It is not easy to be the captain of Ajax, but it certainly gives me confidence.’’

Suarez was the first one to score against Bristol City. Urby Emanuelson intercepted the ball and touched it to Suarez who scored from up close.

Ismaïl Aissati then fed Emanuelson with a great touch, and the midfielder slid the ball past goalkeeper Gerken. ,,We played well as a team and gave very little away’’, Emanuelson said. ,,We are starting to play together well.’’

After a handfull of unfortunate misses by Ajax, substitutes Albert Luque and Dennis Rommedahl gave the Ajax fans reason to cheer in the closing stages. First Luque struck from more than thirty metres out (0-3) and Rommedahl, on the pitch for barely a minute, chipped the ball over the goalkeeper.

,,We could have made more goals today’’, coach Martin Jol said. ,,We can do much better, but still we left a good impression.’’

Ajax train twice on Thursday and Friday, on the grounds of the University of Bristol. The team finishes the training camp with a match at Southampton on Saturday.

Bristol City - Ajax 0-4 (0-2)
25. Luis Suarez 0-1, 35. Urby Emanuelson 0-2, 81. Albert Luque 0-4, 83. Dennis Rommedahl 0-4.

Bristol City FC: Dean Gerken (46. Peter Brezovan); Bradley Orr (80. Tristan Plummer), Jamie McAllister (46. Lewin Nyatanga), David Clarkson (46. Danny Haynes), Nicky Maynard (46. John Akinde), Ivan Sproule (46. Michael McIndoe), Louis Carey (65. Paul Hartley), Liam Fontaine (65. Alexei Eremenko), Lee Johnson (65. Grigorios Papazaharias), Marvin Elliott (65. James Wilson), Cole Skuse (65. Frankie Artus).

Ajax: Maarten Stekelenburg; Gregory van der Wiel (72. George Ogararu), Rob Wielaert, Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen; Kennedy (82. Dennis Rommedahl), Evander Sno (76. Siem de Jong), Ismaïl Aissati (75. Rasmus Lindgren), Urby Emanuelson; Luis Suarez, Miralem Sulejmani (61. Albert Luque).
DNP: Jeroen Verhoeven, Vurnon Anita.