Ajax 2 win only trophy after penalties

One hundred and twenty minutes could not provide a winner in the final of the Amstel Malt Cup, the cup for second teams. Ajax 2 ware better than the reserves of PSV in taking penalties. Nourdin Boukhari put Ajax ahead in the first half, Cunha tied the score fifteen minutes from the end of regulation. Both teams failed to score the 'Golden Goal' in overtime. Through a save by Stekelenburg and a missed penalty by PSV, coach John van ´t Schip's men won Ajax's only trophy this season. By winning this cup, Ajax 2 are allowed to take part in the 'big' cup again next season.

After 26 minutes, Ajax took the lead. Nourdin Boukhari scored from a cross by Tiberkanine. Both teams had chances in the first half, but Ajax took the lead into the dressing room at halftime.

In the second half PSV 2 put Ajax under pressure. The result was a more open match than before halftime, with PSV constantly threatening. The pressure paid off for PSV in the 73rd minute. Cunha received the ball from the right and he did not miss face-to-face with goalkeeper Maarten Stekelenburg, 1-1.

The overtime period brought no more goals and a penalty series was necessary. Both goalkeepers did well and managed to save one penalty each. Van Boxel then missed on behalf of PSV. Mofokeng and Wilson scored. Andre Bergdølmo, one of the players from Ajax's first team, had to take the last penalty kick. The Norwegian defender had never failed from the spot and this time he was right on target again. The team erupted in joy. Despite the fact that Ajax 2 played in a different line-up almost every match this season, they had managed to bring home the only trophy for the club so far.