Future Cup: Ajax will meet Anderlecht, JLeague against Bayern

Future Cup: Ajax will meet Anderlecht, JLeague against Bayern

Ajax U17s have qualified for the ABN AMRO Future Cup semi-finals.  Gery Vink’s team entertained the crowd and disposed of the Juventus U17s easily (2-0).  Ryan Gravenberch and Abdallah Aberkane scored the goals.

The Amsterdam youth team took the initiative from the start against the last-placed Italian team.  The game was mainly played on Juventus’ half.  With good position play, the hunt for the first goal was on.

Turbulent start
“Wow”, gasped the crowd from the stands when Ajax substitute Venitchio Sint, with one pass, outplayed his opponent.  The resulting pass was perfect, after which Ryan Gravenberch scored the 1-0 goal with a hard shot.

Minutes later, Szabocs Schön demonstrated his recipe for success in the left wing position.  The 16 year-old forward dribbled past his opponent and was hauled down in the penalty kick area: penalty.  Abdallah Aberkane scored from twelve yards out and gave the team a well-earned 2-0.

Ajax U17 made several substitutions in the second half.  The passes and plays were a bit more careless, and a third goal never came.  Opponent Juventus was exhausted and, as the last-placed team, will compete for fifth place.

On the other field, JLeague was too strong for Benfica, defeating them 1-3, and thus winning the pool.  Ajax U17, as the second-placed team, qualified for a berth in the semi-finals, where they will meet their age counterparts from Anderlecht.

Anderlecht and Bayern
Earlier on, pool A had been decided.  Anderlecht U17 played its last group match against PSG (1-1) to a tie and qualified for the next round as the leader. 

Bayern Munich had passed their baptism of fire in the deciding game against Arsenal.  The German team won by 1-4 and was the second team to earn a spot in the next round of the youth tournament.

Ajax U17 – Juventus U17  2-0 (2-0) 6. Gravenberch 1-0, 10. Aberkane 2-0. 

Line upAjax U17: Gorski; Dest, Van Gelderen, Botman, Bakker; Gravenberch (44. Farcas), Aberkane,  J. Maduro (43. Margeret); Schön, De la Vega (44. Brobbey), Sint (51. Trograncic)