Draw for Ajax in closed friendly against PEC

Draw for Ajax in closed friendly against PEC

On Thursday, Ajax tied a closed friendly game against PEC Zwolle.  At de Toekomst sports complex, the final score was 1-1.  Pelle Clement opened the score after about thirty minutes of play.  Twelve minutes before the end, Dirk Marcellis evened the game.

Each team had the opportunity to score the opening goal early on.  Both Kingsley Ehizibue (PEC Zwolle) and Mateo Cassierra (Ajax) failed to convert on one-on-one showdowns against the keeper.  On behalf of the home team, Diederik Boer made a great save.  The veteran, together with Daley Sinkgraven, Heiko Westermann, Hakim Ziyech, David Neres and Cassierra, represented the A selection.

Former Ajacieds at Zwolle
Boer was one of the players on the field who faced his former club.  For many years, the goalie had defended the Zwolle goal and grew into a club icon there.  The Eredivisie’s number eleven team also has its share of former Ajacieds in its selection.  Loaned out player Django Warmerdam and Philippe Sandler – both active at the Toekomst last season – were in the starting line-up.  In the second half, both Queensy Menig and Ouasim Bouy made their appearance.  Mickey van der Hart didn’t play.

Pelle Clement is the one who brought Ajax into the lead after 33 minutes.  He received a pass from Carel Eiting, had lots of room, and rounded off with a goal.  Clement admitted afterwards with a broad grin that his shot had changed direction.  A stroke of good luck.

Just before halftime, PEC had the chance to draw even, but Westermann swiftly neutralised a counter from the right.  But coach Ron Jans’ team did end up tying the game in the second half.  Norbert Alblas stood out by making a good save on a long distance shot by Mustafa Saymak, but was forced to concede later on a long-distance shot.  Marcellis scored the tying goal from the edge of the box.

Score summary: 33. Clement 1-0, 78. Marcellis 1-1

Line-up Ajax: Boer (46. Alblas), Lartey-Sanniez (74. Owusu), Westermann, Savastano, Sinkgraven, Eiting (62. Doekhi), Dankerlui, Ziyech (46. Bay), Neres, Cassierra, Clement (46. Boultam)